Ashes 2023 ENG Vs AUS 2nd Test Jonny Bairstow Wicket Was Right Or Wrong Know The MCC Rule Behind It

Jonny Bairstow Wicket Rule: Ashes 2023 is being played in England. The second match of the series was very exciting. Some such moments were seen in the match, which have taken the form of controversy. This included the wicket of Johnny Bairstow from the catch of Mitchell Starc. People are seen divided into two sides on Bairstow’s wicket. In this, the people of one side say that this out was absolutely right, while the other side is telling it wrong. Let us know what the rule says on such a wicket.

According to MCC Laws of Cricket 20.1.2, “The ball shall be considered dead when it is not evident to the umpire at the bowling end that the fielding team and the two batsmen at the crease have not ceased play.”

According to this rule, until both the teams stop completely after playing a ball, then no ball will be considered as dead ball. If after a ball the wicket-keeper bowls the ball on behalf of the bowler and the bowler drops the ball, the batsman may run out as the ball is still in play.

Bairstow was out in a way

Bairstow was dismissed in the 52nd over of the fourth innings. During this, Bairstow was present at the crease with captain Ben Stokes. Bairstow saved himself from the bounce of Australian bowler Cameron Green and then he came out of the crease. Bairstow going out of the crease, Alex Carey threw the balls from behind the wicket. After this there was an appeal from Australia and the matter reached the third umpire. Then Bairstow was declared out by the third umpire.

Australia took the lead

Australia has taken a 2-0 lead in the series by winning both the Tests in a row. Australia won by 2 wickets in the first Test played at Edgbaston. After this, Australia’s team became victorious by 43 runs in the Lord’s Test.

read this also…

Watch: ‘You will always be remembered for this…’, Stuart Broad fumes at Alex Carey dismissing Bairstow

Leave a Comment