Election 2024: PM Modi’s Name Replaces CM in Assembly Elections; BJP Adopts Lotus Symbol as Electoral Emblem

In a strategic move, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has decided to shift the spotlight from Chief Ministers to Prime Minister Narendra Modi in the upcoming assembly elections. Instead of showcasing individual CM faces, the party has chosen to promote PM Modi’s name as the leading figure, while adopting the lotus symbol as their electoral emblem.

A New Electoral Strategy

As elections in four major states – Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, and Telangana – kick off, it’s evident that the BJP has refrained from projecting any Chief Ministerial candidates. The electoral campaign revolves around the mantra of “Prime Minister Narendra Modi and the party’s symbol, the lotus.” This departure from projecting prominent state leaders as candidates appears to be a bold move.

Leaders Behind the Scenes

Among the key leaders in these states, three stand out: Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Vasundhara Raje Scindia, and Raman Singh. Shivraj Singh Chouhan has served as the Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh for four consecutive terms and remains the BJP’s most prominent OBC (Other Backward Classes) face in the state, with over 50% of the OBC population’s support. In Rajasthan, Vasundhara Raje Scindia has led the BJP to power twice, defeating Ashok Gehlot. Raman Singh had a continuous three-term tenure as Chhattisgarh’s CM until 2018, despite a tight contest in the last elections. Surprisingly, none of these leaders are being projected as Chief Ministerial candidates this time.

Avoiding Polarization

The BJP’s decision to refrain from projecting CM faces can be attributed to several factors. Firstly, it aims to avoid polarization that might arise from strong regional leaders. Secondly, the party is conscious of voter apathy when it comes to established faces in power. For instance, Shivraj Singh Chouhan, with more than 17 years as the Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh, faced a setback in the last elections when Congress briefly assumed power. His return to the CM post within 15 months was seen as a response to Jyotiraditya Scindia’s political maneuvering. Additionally, the entry of Central Minister Narendra Singh Tomar into state politics is indicative of the importance the party attaches to these elections.

Past Elections and New Leadership

In Rajasthan, the last elections witnessed a strong anti-incumbency sentiment against Vasundhara Raje’s government, leading to the loss of all 25 Lok Sabha seats to the BJP. The slogan “Modi tujshe virodh nahi, Rani teri khair nahi” resonated widely. In response, the BJP has nurtured new leaders like Gajendra Singh Shekhawat and Diya Kumari, both of whom are known opponents of Vasundhara Raje.

In Chhattisgarh, Raman Singh won three consecutive elections as CM but had to face a shocking defeat in the last polls when Congress secured victory by a narrow margin. As a result, Raman Singh is not being projected as a CM candidate this time.

The BJP’s strategic move to shift the focus from CM faces to Prime Minister Narendra Modi and the lotus symbol indicates a calculated approach to upcoming assembly elections. By avoiding the polarization associated with regional leaders and recognizing the need for fresh faces, the party aims to secure a stronger foothold in these crucial states. Only time will tell if this strategy pays off and leads to victory in the upcoming elections.

Leave a Comment