Pakistan’s Visa Delay Adds Uncertainty to ICC ODI World Cup 2023

Pakistan World Cup 2023 Squad: The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 is set to kick off in India on October 5, with practice matches scheduled from September 29 to allow teams to acclimatize to Indian conditions. However, the Pakistani cricket team is facing a visa issue that could potentially disrupt their plans for the mega event.

In this edition of the World Cup, featuring ten teams, all teams except Pakistan have received their visas to travel to India. According to ESPNCricinfo, Pakistan had initially planned to practice in Dubai before flying to Hyderabad for their World Cup preparations. However, due to the delayed issuance of visas, their preparations have been thrown into uncertainty.

The Pakistan Cricket Team had applied for visas a week before their scheduled departure. The team is now set to leave for Dubai on September 27 and then proceed to Hyderabad for their World Cup preparations. The Pakistani team management has expressed hope that they will receive their visas within the stipulated time frame, allowing them to prepare adequately.

Before the World Cup, Pakistan is scheduled to play a practice match against the New Zealand cricket team in Hyderabad on September 29.

It’s worth noting that the Pakistan cricket team had announced their 15-member squad for the ODI World Cup 2023 on September 22, omitting Naseem Shah due to a shoulder injury. Hassan Ali was included in the squad in place of Naseem Shah. The squad includes three spin bowlers – Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, and Usama Mir – alongside other talented players.

The delay in visa issuance has raised concerns among cricket enthusiasts, but the Pakistan Cricket Team remains hopeful that they will receive their visas in time to participate in the practice matches and the ICC ODI World Cup, where they aim to showcase their cricketing prowess on the world stage.

Pakistan World Cup 2023 Squad:

  • Babar Azam (Captain)
  • Abdullah Shafique
  • Fakhar Zaman
  • Hasan Ali
  • Iftikhar Ahmed
  • Imam-ul-Haq
  • Mohammad Rizwan
  • Salman Aga
  • Shadab Khan (Vice-Captain)
  • Mohammad Nawaz
  • Shaheen Afridi
  • Usama Mir
  • Mohammad Wasim Jr.
  • Saud Shakeel
  • Harris Rauf

Leave a Comment