Rohit and Virat Return for Third ODI Against Australia, Five Players Dropped

India Vs Australia: In a significant development, five players, including opening batsman Shubman Gill, have been excluded from the Indian cricket team for the third and final One-Day International (ODI) against Australia, scheduled for Wednesday. This move comes as Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Hardik Pandya, and Kuldeep Yadav make their comeback after sitting out the first two matches of the series.

The Indian team is leading the series 2-0 and aims to complete a clean sweep by winning the third ODI. Fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah, who was rested in the previous match, will return to the squad for the final encounter.

On the other hand, all-rounder Akshar Patel, who recently recovered from an injury, has not been included in the playing eleven for this match. Both Shubman Gill and Shardul Thakur have been given some rest as per the Board of Control for Cricket in India’s (BCCI) workload management policy.

The BCCI has stated that Jasprit Bumrah has been rested in accordance with their workload management policy. Meanwhile, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Hardik Pandya, and Kuldeep Yadav have been drafted back into the team.

It is highly likely that in this final ODI, Ravichandran Ashwin might make way for spinner Kuldeep Yadav in the playing eleven.

The expected playing eleven for the final ODI could be: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Siraj, and Mohammed Shami.

Leave a Comment